Cannes Film Festival: All We Imagine As Light scripts history, becomes first Indian film to win Grand Prix | Bollywood

Hearty applause to Payal Kapadia and her team on the monumental win of “All We Imagine As Light” claiming the Grand Prix at the prestigious 77th Cannes Film Festival. Graced by the presence of Payal alongside stars Kani Kusruti, Divya Prabha, and Chhaya Kadam, the film claimed its glory at the festival’s finale. (Also read: Cannes 2024: Payal Kapadia’s “All We Imagine As Light” enters the record books; receives eight-minute ovation)

Scene from “All We Imagine As Light”, a film directed by Payal Kapadia.

India Celebrates a Major Cinematic Accomplishment

In a fierce competition among celebrated directors like Francis Ford Coppola and Paolo Sorrentino, “All We Imagine As Light” emerged as a standout among new cinematic offerings at Cannes.

Gain unparalleled insight into India’s elections—exclusively with the HT App. Seize the opportunity to stay informed. Download Now!

Debuting on May 23, the film was met with a powerful eight-minute standing ovation, setting a remarkable precedent for this version of the festival.

“All We Imagine As Light” in Focus

As a co-production between India and France, “All We Imagine As Light” tells the poignant tale of Prabha (portrayed by Kani Kusruti), a nurse who receives an unanticipated gift from her absent husband. Meanwhile, Prabha’s friend and cohabitant Anu (played by Divya Prabha) seeks solitude with her partner, leading the duo to embark on a road trip to a coastal town, aspiring to find freedom for their hopes and passions.

The night’s other accolades were captured by Emilia Perez for Best Actress, with Coralie Fargeat acquiring Best Screenplay for “The Substance”. Jesse Plemons was honored as Best Actor for “Kinds of Kindness”. The Jury Prize was awarded to Emilia Perez, and the highest distinction, the Palme d’Or, was bestowed upon “Anora” by Sean Baker.

With “All We Imagine As Light”, Payal Kapadia makes her narrative debut, following her acclaimed documentary “A Night of Knowing Nothing”, which previously won the Golden Eye award at Cannes Festival.

The Cannes Festival commenced on May 14 and was helmed by jury president Greta Gerwig. The esteemed jury comprised names such as Lily Gladstone, Kore-eda Hirokazu, Eva Green, Ebru Ceylan, Juan Antonio Bayona, Nadine Labaki, and Omar Sy.

Leave a Comment